Expert List


The Canadian Society for the Study of Education (CSSE) comprises over 900 scholars, researchers, and practitioners in education. Our expert list is a source for media needing experts to provide commentary on or analysis of news and other topics pertaining to education.

Administration and Leadership in Education

Ken Brien, Ed.D.
506-999-4729
kbrien1@unb.ca 
University of New Brunswick

Dr. J. Tim Goddard
902.894.2843 / 902.393.5707
tgoddard@upei.ca / jtg045@gmail.com
Professor, Faculty of Education, University of Prince Edward Island
Specialty: Educational administration and leadership; with a focus on international development and education in fragile communities

Cameron Hauseman
cameron.hauseman@mail.utoronto.ca
416-802-7445

Joel Westheimer
joelwestheimer@mac.com
Univ. Research Chair in Democracy & Education
University of Ottawa (Ontario, Canada)
Education columnist, CBC Ottawa Morning
www.joelwestheimer.org | whatkindofcitizen.org

Adult Education

John Ippolito
jippolito@edu.yorku.ca
Associate Professor
Faculty of Education | York University

Robert McGray, PhD
rmcgray@brocku.ca
Associate Professor & Director, Centre for Adult Education and Community Outreach (CAECO)
Faculty of Education, Brock University

Mahdi Rahimian
Mahdi.Rahimian@umanitoba.ca
University of Manitoba

Arts-based Education

Dr. Fiona Blaikie
fblaikie@brocku.ca
Professor, Art Education
Chief Examiner, Visual Arts, International Baccalaureate Organization
specialty: visual and cultural identities; visual arts (studio practices, aesthetics and art criticism); visual arts (qualitative forms of assessment); ethnographic arts inquiry

Childcare/Early Childhood Education

Dr. Joanne Lehrer
joanne.lehrer@uqo.ca
Université du Québec en Outaouais
819-923-9356

Curriculum and Instruction

Dr. Samantha Cutrara
samantha.cutrara@gmail.com
905-505-1152

Haleh Raissadat
haleh.raissadat@mail.mcgill.ca
specialty: mathematics and engineering education

Giuliano Reis
greis@uottawa.ca
specialty: science and environmental education and discourse analysis

Joel Westheimer
joelwestheimer@mac.com
Univ. Research Chair in Democracy & Education
University of Ottawa (Ontario, Canada)
Education columnist, CBC Ottawa Morning
www.joelwestheimer.org | whatkindofcitizen.org

Jessica Wright
jessi.wright@mail.utoronto.ca
647-505-8322
University of Toronto

Guoqiang (George) Zhou, PhD
gzhou@uwindsor.ca
519-992-6098
University of Windsor

Education Outside the Public School

Dr. Samantha Cutrara
samantha.cutrara@gmail.com
905-505-1152

Joel Westheimer
joelwestheimer@mac.com
Univ. Research Chair in Democracy & Education
University of Ottawa (Ontario, Canada)
Education columnist, CBC Ottawa Morning
www.joelwestheimer.org | whatkindofcitizen.org

Educational Policy and Governance

Robert McGray, PhD
rmcgray@brocku.ca
Associate Professor & Director, Centre for Adult Education and Community Outreach (CAECO)
Faculty of Education, Brock University

Dr. Melody Viczko
mviczko@uwo.ca
519-702-5193
Western University
specialty: higher education policy and governance, internationalizing higher education, federal government policy influences in higher education

Louis Volante, PhD
lvolante@brocku.ca
Professor, Faculty of Education | Brock University
Affiliated Researcher, UNU-MERIT | Maastricht University
President-Elect, Canadian Educational Researchers’ Association
specialty: international achievement tests; educational policy analysis; educational reform and innovation 

Gender and Sexuality in Education

Dr. Lee Airton
lee.airton@queensu.ca
Queen’s University

Michael Kehler, PhD
michael.kehler@ucalgary.ca
403-210-8590
Research Professor
Masculinities Studies in Education
Werklund School of Education
University of Calgary
https://werklund.ucalgary.ca/masculinities#quickset-field_collection_quicktabs_0
http://werklund.ucalgary.ca/educ_info/profiles/michael-kehler
specialty: masculinities, gender, equity

Higher Education

Robert McGray, PhD
rmcgray@brocku.ca
Associate Professor & Director, Centre for Adult Education and Community Outreach (CAECO)
Faculty of Education, Brock University

Dr. Melody Viczko
mviczko@uwo.ca
519-702-5193
Western University
specialty: higher education policy and governance, internationalizing higher education, federal government policy influences in higher education, women in higher education leadership

History, History of Education

Dr. Samantha Cutrara
samantha.cutrara@gmail.com
905-505-1152
SamanthaCutrara.com

Jason Ellis PhD
j.ellis@ubc.ca
604-822-9190
Assistant professor | Faculty of Education | Department of Educational Studies
National Academy of Education/Spencer Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow (’17-18)
The University of British Columbia
specialty: educational finance, inequality, special education; especially, B.C., Ontario, and the USA in comparative perspective

Indigenous Education

Dr. Marie Battiste
marie.battiste@usask.ca
306-966-7576
University of Saskatchewan
specialty: decolonizing and Indigenizing the academy

International Education

Dr. Kumari Beck
kumari_beck@sfu.ca
Simon Fraser University

Dr. Roopa Desai Trilokekar
roopat@edu.yorku.ca
York University

Dr. Michael O’Sullivan
mosullivan@brocku.ca
905 688 5550  x5345
Associate Dean
Associate Professor, Graduate Student Services, Research and International
Brock University

Mahdi Rahimian
Mahdi.Rahimian@umanitoba.ca
University of Manitoba

Dr. Paul Tarc
ptarc2@uwo.ca
Western University

Language Education; Literacy and Reading Education

Amélie Lemieux
amelie.lemieux@mail.mcgill.ca
514-515-1713
As of July 1: Assistant Professor of Literacy Education
Mount St. Vincent University
specialty: literacy, reading scores, reading engagement, performance and assessment

Katherine MacCormac
kmaccorm@uwo.ca
Western University
specialty: multilingualism and identity construction/negotiation in the context of Canadian French as a second language (FSL) education

Measurement, Evaluation, and Research Design

Peter D. MacMillan, PhD
Peter.MacMillan@unbc.ca
250-613-9166
President Canadian Educational Researchers’ Association (CERA)
Président l’Association canadienne des chercheurs en education (ACCÉ)
Associate Professor
School of Education School of Health Sciences
UNBC

Joel Westheimer
joelwestheimer@mac.com
Univ. Research Chair in Democracy & Education
University of Ottawa (Ontario, Canada)
Education columnist, CBC Ottawa Morning
www.joelwestheimer.org | whatkindofcitizen.org

Philosophy and Education

Alexandra Gillis
sandy.gillis@telus.net
604-215-0122

Bruce Maxwell, PhD
bruce.maxwell@uqtr.ca
514-465-2299
Associate Professor of Education
University of Quebec Trois-Rivières
Co-editor of Philosophical Inquiry in Education
specialty: ethics and law in education

Joel Westheimer
joelwestheimer@mac.com
Univ. Research Chair in Democracy & Education
University of Ottawa (Ontario, Canada)
Education columnist, CBC Ottawa Morning
www.joelwestheimer.org | whatkindofcitizen.org

Psychological Foundations in Education

Eleftherios Soleas
eleftherios.soleas@queensu.ca
Queen’s University

Social and Sociological Foundations in Education

Christine Cho
christinech@nipissingu.ca
647-467-9733
Nipissing University

Dr. Samantha Cutrara
samantha.cutrara@gmail.com
905-505-1152

Joel Westheimer
joelwestheimer@mac.com
Univ. Research Chair in Democracy & Education
University of Ottawa (Ontario, Canada)
Education columnist, CBC Ottawa Morning
www.joelwestheimer.org | whatkindofcitizen.org

Jessica Wright
jessi.wright@mail.utoronto.ca
647-505-8322
University of Toronto

Special Education

Tara Kumabe, PhD
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto & York Region District School Board

Kyle Robinson
kyle.robinson@queensu.ca
647-629-0644

Dr. Steve Sider
ssider@wlu.ca
226.989.4700
Wilfrid Laurier University
specialty: school leadership and global competencies

Dr. Jacqueline Specht
Director, Canadian Research Centre on Inclusive Education
Professor, Faculty of Education
(519) 661-2111 ext. 88876
jspecht@uwo.ca

Teachers and Teacher Education

Christine Cho
christinech@nipissingu.ca
647-467-9733
Nipissing University

Dr. Samantha Cutrara
samantha.cutrara@gmail.com
905-505-1152
SamanthaCutrara.com

Dr. Antoinette Gagné
antoinette.gagne@utoronto.ca
Associate Chair, Student Experience
Department of Curriculum Teaching and Learning
OISE, University of Toronto

Alexandra Gillis
sandy.gillis@telus.net
604-215-0122

David Hung
david.hung@mail.utoronto.ca
University of Toronto
specialty: mathematics education

Robert Liggett, PhD
University of Saskatchewan
robert.liggett@usask.ca
306-921-7889
https://about.me/robertliggett
https://www.linkedin.com/in/robertliggett

Dr. Julie Mueller
<jmueller@wlu.ca>
519.884.0710 x2115
Wilfrid Laurier University

Dr. Giuliano Reis
greis@uottawa.ca
specialty: science and environmental education and discourse analysis

Rebecca Stroud Stasel
0rlas@queensu.ca
613-217-2525
Queen’s University
specialty: mentorship, leadership, and international teachers

Dr. Lynn Thomas
Lynn.Thomas@usherbrooke.ca
(819) 821-8000 poste 62808
Professeure titulaire
Directrice adjointe, département de pédagogie
Présidente élue SCÉÉ/CSSE
Membre du Collectif CLÉ   http://www.collectif-cle.com/

Dr. Joel Westheimer
joelwestheimer@mac.com
Univ. Research Chair in Democracy & Education
University of Ottawa (Ontario, Canada)
Education columnist, CBC Ottawa Morning
www.joelwestheimer.org | whatkindofcitizen.org

Technology in Education

David P. Burns, Ph.D.
david.burns@kpu.ca
604-599-3480
Vice Chair, University Senate
Teaching Fellow, K12 Transformation
Chair, Senate Standing Committee on Curriculum; Budget
Kwantlen Polytechnic University

Dr. Samantha Cutrara
samantha.cutrara@gmail.com
905-505-1152
SamanthaCutrara.com

Nadia Delanoy
nadia.delanoy@ucalgary.ca
403-978-7253
specialty: digital learning,  meaningful integration of technology

Beyhan Farhadi
beyhan.farhadi@gmail.com
University of Toronto
specialty: electronically delivered instruction

Dr. Tim Hopper
thopper@uvic.ca
University of Victoria
specialty: digital portfolios for post secondary and K-12 learning

Dr. Paula MacDowell
Lecturer, Educational Technology & Learning Design
Simon Fraser University, Faculty of Education

Dr. Julie Mueller
jmueller@wlu.ca
519.884.0710 x2115
Wilfrid Laurier University

Kathy Snow
kathy_snow@cbu.ca
Cape Breton University

Kyle Stooshnov
kyle.stooshnov@ubc.ca
Department of Language and Literacy Education
University of British Columbia
specialty: virtual reality in drama education

Working with the Media


If you are not sure about working with the media and would like to know a little bit more about what it entails, please consult our handy tip sheets.

Part 1 Types of Interviews

Part 2 Understanding the Media’s Needs

Part 3 Ensuring a Successful Experience

Media Statements


Apr 28

CSSE Media Statement Supporting Reconciliation

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE EDUCATION RESEARCHERS SPEAK OUT FOR RECONCILIATION Ottawa, ON March...
Read more
Apr 28

CSSE Media Statement Supporting FN Caring Society

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE EDUCATIONAL RESEARCHERS SUPPORT CARING SOCIETY IN ITS BATTLE WITH...
Read more
Apr 28

CSSE expresses concern over U.S. Executive Order on immigration and refugees

The Canadian Society for the Study of Education (CSSE), on behalf of...
Read more

WELCOME TO | BIENVENUE À

Continue in | Continuer en