Nouvelles

01

NOUVELLES: Le Fil EdCan - Édition 16

Dernière édition de Le Fil EdCan Pour savoir en plus, consultez le numéro ici....
01

NOUVELLES: Rappel: appel de propositions du 87e congrès de

Chercheuses et chercheurs, décideuses et décideurs publiques, utilisatrices et utilisate...
02

EMPLOIS: Executive Director, Independent Schools and Interna

Executive Director, Independent Schools and International Education - BC Ministry of Educa...
03

NOUVELLES: Nouveautés de StatsCan 20181010

Nouveautés de Statistique Canada Communiqué : Étude : La transition des études au ...

À propos

La Société canadienne pour l’étude de l’éducation est le plus vaste regroupement de professeures et professeures, d’étudiantes et étudiants, de chercheures et chercheurs ainsi que de practiciennes et practiciens dans le domaine de l’éducation au Canada. La SCÉÉ constitue le principal porte-parole national des personnes qui font progresser les connaissances en éducation.

Mission

La SCÉÉ est une organisation bilingue dont la mission est l’avancement des connaissances et l’amélioration des pratiques en matière d’éducation. Toutefois, la SCÉÉ tient également à encourager la tenue de réunions tout au long de l’année et offre une mise de fonds initiale pour des événements ponctuels axés sur la recherche (maximum de 2500 $ par événement) et concordant avec sa mission.

Adhésion

Adhésion à la SCÉÉ a plusieurs avantages à offrir aux membres : un congrès annuel, un réseautage professionel, une représentation auprès de plusieurs groupes qui ont un accès direct aux responsables des politiques, et un abonnement à la revue par excellence des chercheurs en éducation. Si vous avez des questions à propos de l’adhésion à la SCÉÉ, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau.

Liste de lecture

Jodi Nickel (Mount Royal University), présidente de l’ACDE, partage avec nous une lecture récente.

Je suis en train de lire le roman It Can’t Happen Here de Sinclair Lewis. J’ai eu envie de le lire après avoir écouté l’émission balado Ideas de la CBC American Fascism: It Can’t Happen Here? Lewis a écrit ce livre étrangement prémonitoire en 1935 lorsque les É.-U. étaient encore peu conscients du fascisme d’Hitler. Il y a, entre le roman et les événements actuels au sud de la frontière, de nombreux parallèles qui pourraient intéresser les membres de la SCÉÉ, dont particulièrement l’interférence des médias.

Lindsay Herriot (University of Victoria), membre de l’ACÉFÉ (femmes), a deux livres sur sa table de chevet : Transforming Vision: Explorations in Feminist The*logy(Elisabeth Schussler Fiorenza) et The Golden Compass​(Phillip Pullman).

Le premier parce que je suis fascinée par la théologie queer et féministe. Bien que je travaille avec Tonya Callaghan. Ph. D., de l’University of Calgary sur un projet connexe appelé The Catholic Closet, je lis ce livre pour des raisons autres que professionnelles. En fait, je l’ai acheté dans une liquidation de livres et je suis tellement contente d’être tombée dessus. C’est un ouvrage phare dans le domaine et ça se lit comme un charme.

Le deuxième, je l’ai emprunté à la bibliothèque et ma conjointe m’en lit quelques pages chaque soir. Nous n’en sommes qu’au chapitre 5 (divulgâcheurs s’abstenir svp!), mais le sujet semble assez approprié dans le présent contexte politique. Et il y a des animaux qui parlent. C’est plutôt chouette.

Rob Nellis, ancien président de l’ACÉC et membre du corps professoral du Red Deer College, a deux livres à vous suggérer.

Je viens de finir de lire deux livres que j’ai vraiment aimés : A Full Life: Reflections at Ninety de Jimmy Carter et Blood Lyrics de Katie Ford. Je suppose que lorsqu’une personne comme M. Carter atteint cet âge, il a le droit de raconter son histoire avec des inflexions de douce nostalgie. J’ai surtout apprécié les chapitres sur ses années de jeunesse en Géorgie. Les poèmes de Katie Ford dans Blood Lyrics m’ont aussi touché. Il y a en eux un tel sentiment d’urgence, enraciné dans son vécu et dans les anxiétés du monde moderne.

Mindy Carter de l’Université McGill nous parle du dernier livre qu’elle a lu.

Je viens de lire cet été The Sellout de Peter Beatty. Ce bestseller de la liste du NY Times a aussi remporté le Man Booker Prize. C’est une satire comique qui remet en question la société américaine en proposant, entre autres, de réinstaurer l’esclavage ainsi que la ségrégation raciale dans une école secondaire.

Giuliano Reis, secrétaire de la SCÉÉ, nous parle d’une lecture toute récente :

En ce moment, je m’intéresse aux relations entre les cours de science et la justice sociale – plus particulièrement, à ce que font les enseignants, les parents et les écoles pour combattre la pauvreté dans la société. Par « pauvreté », j’entends non pas strictement le manque d’argent, mais bien aussi la perte de dignité, la manque de nourriture, l’absence de bonheur, le manque de soins de soins, le manque de fierté, l’accès inadéquat à de l’eau, le manque de justice, l’inégalité entre les genres, le manque de conscience environnementale et j’en passe. Cela dit, je suis en train de lire un livre sur la faim intitulé A Fome (http://www.saraiva.com.br/a-fome-9346260.html), écrit par un Argentin, Martín Caparrós; l’ouvrage n’est actuellement disponible qu’en espagnol et en portugais. Il contient de riches descriptions et réflexions de la part de quelqu’un qui a lui-même connu la faim. Comme le dit l’auteur : « Rien n’a exercé plus d’influence sur l’histoire de l’humanité que la faim. Aucune maladie ni aucune guerre n’a tué plus de gens que la faim. Or, aucun autre fléau n’est à la fois aussi meurtrier et aussi évitable que la faim. »

WELCOME TO | BIENVENUE À

Continue in | Continuer en

Example Two CONFERENCE 2021 EDMONTON, ALBERTA CSSE 2021 draft program is now available!

News

01

JOBS: CMEC - Bilingual Analyst, Policy (Full-time, 13-month

Council of Ministers of Education, Canada (CMEC) - Bilingual Analyst, Policy (Full-time, 1...
01

NEWS: HKERA-APERA International Conference 2021

  HKERA-APERA International Conference 2021 Connectivity, Inclusivity and ...
02

NEWS: Statistics Canada - 20210729

News from Statistics Canada News release: Financial information of universities and co...
03

NEWS: Statistics Canada - 20210728

News from Statistics Canada News release: Study: The changing sociodemographic charact...

Blog

Jun 18

Reflections on CSSE 2021 -Yotam Ronen

Lessons Learned from CSSE 2021 This year’s CSSE 2021 has been a...
Read more
Jun 15

Reflections on CSSE 2021 – Chuan Liu

What is certain about education in uncertain times? Each year CSSE conference...
Read more
Jun 8

Reflections on CSSE 2021 – Enoch Leung

The Canadian Society for the Study of Education (CSSE) 2021 annual conference...
Read more
May 5

The Alberta Draft K-6 Curriculum is in a Class By Itself

Nicole Patrie and Danielle Lorenz   In late March, Alberta Education released...
Read more

CSSE Tweets

About CSSE

The Canadian Society for the Study of Education is the largest organization of professors, students, researchers and practitioners in education in Canada. CSSE is the major national voice for those who create educational knowledge, prepare teachers and educational leaders, and apply research in the schools, classrooms and institutions of Canada.

Mission

CSSE is a bilingual organization whose mission is to advance knowledge and inform practice in educational settings. Our major scholarly event is the yearly conference at Congress. However, CSSE is also anxious to encourage meetings throughout the year and provides seed money (Maximum $2500 per event) for short term scholarly events that support its mission.

Membership

Membership in CSSE has many benefits including an annual conference, professional networking, representation to several national groups with direct access to decision makers, and a subscription to the leading Canadian educational journal. If you have any questions or would like to receive a CSSE membership form in the mail, please contact our office.

Reading List

CATE President Jodi Nickel (Mount Royal University) shared her latest read with CSSE:

I’m currently reading the novel It Can’t Happen Here by Sinclair Lewis. I was inspired to read it while listening to the CBC Radio Ideas podcast American Fascism: It Can’t Happen Here? Eerily prescient, Lewis wrote this book in 1935 when the US was still relatively unaware of Hitler’s fascism. There are many frightening parallels between the novel and current events south of the border that would interest CSSE members, most notably media interference.

CASWE Member Lindsay Herriot (Victoria) currently has two books on her bedside table: Transforming Vision: Explorations in Feminist The*logy (Elisabeth Schussler Fiorenza) and The Golden Compass ​(by Phillip Pullman).

The first is because I’m fascinated by feminist and queer theology. While I’m currently working on a related project with Dr. Tonya Callaghan at the University of Calgary called The Catholic Closet, I’m reading this one for non-work reasons. In truth, I came across it at a used book sale, and am so glad I did. Besides being a seminal work in the field, it’s a fantastic read.

The second is borrowed to from the library, and my spouse is reading a few pages out loud every night. While we’re only at chapter 5 (no spoilers please!) it seems rather fitting for these political times. Also there’s talking animals, so that’s pretty great.

Rob Nellis, CACS Past President and a faculty member at Red Deer College, current has two books to recommend:

I’ve just finished two books that I really liked. A Full Life: Reflections at Ninety by Jimmy Carter and Blood Lyrics by Katie Ford. I suppose when a person such as Mr. Carter gets to be his age, he’s earned the right to tell his own story with whatever sweet inflections he may bring. I especially appreciated the chapters about his younger years growing up in Georgia. I also valued Blood Lyrics by Katie Ford – I found her poems to have such an urgency, rooted in her embodied experience and pulling in the anxieties of the modern world.

McGill University’s Mindy Carter shared her latest read with us:

The latest book I have read this summer is Paul Beatty’s The Sellout. This book is a NY times bestseller and Man Booker prize winner. It is a comedic satire that questions American society through the proposal of reinstating slavery, and segregating a high school (among other things).

CSSE Treasurer Giuliano Reis shares his latest read with us: Right now I am interested in connections of the science curriculum with social justice — specifically what can teachers, parents and schools do to mitigate poverty in society. Here, I take the word “poverty” not to signify strictly “lack of money”, but ”lack of” dignity, food, happiness, health, pride, access to water, justice, gender equality, environmental consciousness … You name it! That said, I am reading a book called “Hunger” which has been written by an Argentinian (http://www.saraiva.com.br/a-fome-9346260.html) and it is right now only available in Portuguese and Spanish. It offers rich descriptions and reflections of someone who has seen hunger first-hand.  As the author himself says: “Nothing has had more influence in the history of humanity than hunger. No disease or war has killed more people than hunger. Yet, no other plague is so lethal and, at the same time, avoidable as hunger.”

WELCOME TO | BIENVENUE À

Continue in | Continuer en