ACDE Presents Dr. Carl Everton James: The Sherman Lecture 2022

ACDE Presents Dr. Carl Everton James: The Sherman Lecture 2022

Re-Imaging Education: Making equity initiatives responsive to the experiences and ambitions of today’s students and faculty

 

Tuesday, May 17, 2022 | 9:30 Pacific/10:30 Mountain/11:30 Central/12:30 Eastern/1:30 Atlantic/2:00 Newfoundland (75 minutes)

Are the “equity measures” put in place by today’s Canadian educational institutions responsive to the needs, concerns, conditions, experiences, expectations and ambitions of marginalized and racialized students? Apart from the COVID-19 pandemic having exacerbated (and likely exposed) inequities in schooling and education, what impact have the world-wide anti-racism protests (following the police murder of an African American man)—generated by Black Lives Matter, Idle No More, Residential Schools Protests, and Truth and Reconciliation Report—had on the self-examinations and talk of systemic racism within the institutions. Are Indigenous, marginalized and racialized students being effectively and equitably served? Are institutions’ claims, programs, initiatives, and activities—such as EDI (Equity, Diversity & Inclusion) polices and frameworks, anti-racism task force investigations and reports, unconscious bias/anti-oppressive training, and cluster/ targeted hiring—really making a difference? What can we expect in terms of cultural changes?

The Sherman Lecture is open to all delegates of CSSE 2022.