ACDE | Members
16082
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-16082,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,vertical_menu_enabled,qode-title-hidden,footer_responsive_adv,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-11.1,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive

MEMBERS

Association of Canadian Deans of Education

Membership 2017

Current Members

Atlantic Canada

Prof. Kirk Anderson, Dean

Faculty of Education

Memorial University of Newfoundland

www.mun.ca/educ/

Dean’s Assistant: Elaine St. Croix efscroix@mun.ca

 

Prof. Ronald MacDonald, Dean

Faculty of Education

University of PEI

www.upei.ca/education/

Dean’s Assistant:  Karen-Anne O’Halloran kohalloran@upei.ca

 

Prof. John Guiney Yallop, Director

School of Education

Acadia University

education.acadiau.ca/

Director’s Assistant: Shauna Coldwell-Sweeney  shauna.coldwell-sweeney@acadiau.ca

 

Prof. Mary Jane Harkins and Prof. Ardra Cole, Acting Deans

Faculty of Education

Mount St. Vincent University

www.msvu.ca/en/home/programsdepartments/education/default.aspx

Dean’s Assistant: Stephanie Mills Stephanie.mills@msvu.ca

 

Prof. Esther Enns, Senior Advisor, Teaching and Learning

Faculty of Education

Saint Mary’s University

www.smu.ca/academics/education-welcome.html

 

Pre. Dany Sheehy, Directeur

Department of Education

Université Sainte-Anne

www.usainteanne.ca/bed-elementaire-flm

 

Prof. Patrick Howard, Chair, Education Department

Prof. Carolin Kreber, Dean of Professional Studies
Cape Breton University

Assistant: Brenda Leloup Brenda_leloup@cbu.ca

www.cbu.ca/academic-programs/program/school-of-professional-studies/bachelor-of-education/

 

Prof. Jeff Orr, Dean

Faculty of Education

St. Francis Xavier University

Dean’s Assistant: Jennifer Connors jconnors@stfx.ca

sites.stfx.ca/education/bachelor_of_ed/

 

Pre. Marianne Cormier, doyenne

Faculté des sciences de l’éducation

Université de Moncton

Adjointe administrative: Johanne Laliberté Johanne.laliberte@umoncton.ca

www.umoncton.ca/umcm-education/

 

Prof. Katherine Winslow, Acting Dean

Faculty of Education

University of New Brunswick

Dean’s Assistant: Wendy Jones wjones@unb.ca

www.unb.ca/fredericton/education/

 

Prof. Grant Williams, Director

School of Education

St. Thomas University

Fredericton NB E3B 5G3

Email: grantw@stu.ca

Director’s Administrative Coordinator: Erica Cairns ecairns@stu.ca

www.stu.ca/education/

Québec

Prof. Marie-Josée Berger, Dean

School of Education

Bishop’s University

Dean’s Assistant Linda Leblanc gse@ubishops.ca

www.ubishops.ca/academic-programs/school-of-education/

 

Prof. Saul Carliner, Interim Chair

Department of Education

Concordia University

Department Administrator: Tamara Beresford  tamara@education.concordia.ca

www.concordia.ca/artsci/education.html

 

Pr. Fernand Gervais, Doyen

Faculté des sciences de l’éducation–Direction

Université Laval

Adjointe administrative : Anne Provost anne.provost@fse.ulaval.ca

www.fse.ulaval.ca/

 

Prof. Dilson Rassier, Dean

Faculty of Education

McGill University

Dean’s Assistant: Donna Wilkinson donna.wilkinson@mcgill.ca

www.mcgill.ca/education/

 

Pre. Louise Poirier, Doyenne

Faculté des sciences de l’éducation

Université de Montréal

Adjointe administrative : Zeina Tamaz  z.tamaz@umontreal.ca

www.fse.umontreal.ca/

 

Pr. Réal Bergeron, Codirecteur et professeur

Unité d’enseignement et de recherche en sciences de l’education

Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue

Adjointe administrative : Colette Lavoie colette.lavoie@uqat.ca

www.uqat.ca/etudes/education/

 

Pre. Pascale Thériault, Directrice

Département des sciences de l’éducation et de psychologie

Université du Québec à Chicoutimi

Adjointe administrative : Denise Perron sd_education@uqac.ca

www.uqac.ca/departements/dse/

 

Pre. Monique Brodeur, Doyenne

Faculté des sciences de l’éducation

Université du Québec à Montréal

Adjointe administrative : Melanie Cochut cochut.melanie@uqam.ca

education.uqam.ca/

 

Pr. David Lefrançois, Directeur

Département des sciences de l’éducation

Université du Québec en Outaouais

uqo.ca/dep/sciences-education

 

Pre. Joane Deneault, Directrice

Département des sciences de l’éducation

Université du Québec à Rimouski

Adjointe administrative : Madeleine Jean dep_education@uqar.ca

www.uqar.ca/universite/a-propos-de-l-uqar/departements/unites-departementales-des-sciences-de-l-education

 

Pre. Sonia Eleuch, Directrice

Département des sciences de l’éducation

Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières

www.uqtr.uquebec.ca/education/

 

Pr. Serge Striganuk, Doyen

Faculté d’éducation

Université de Sherbrooke

Adjointe administrative : Lyne Gaboury Decanat.education@USherbrooke.ca

www.usherbrooke.ca/education/

Ontario

Prof. Michael Owen, Dean

Faculty of Education

Brock University

Dean’s Assistant: Sharon Spiece  sharon.spiece@brocku.ca

brocku.ca/education

 

Prof. John O’Meara, Dean

Faculty of Education

Lakehead University

Dean’s Assistant: Karen Anderson kanderso@lakeheadu.ca

www.lakeheadu.ca/academics/departments/education

 

Prof. Lace Marie Brogden, Dean

Faculty of Education

Laurentian University

Dean’s Assistant: Lisette Legault LLegault@laurentian.ca

laurentian.ca/faculty/education

 

Prof. Carole Richardson, Dean

Schulich School of Education

Nipissing University

Dean’s Assistant:  Stephanie Young stephaniey@nipissingu.ca

www.nipissingu.ca/academics/faculties/schulich-school-of-education

 

Prof. Maurice DiGiuseppe, Interim Dean

Faculty of Education

University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT)

Dean’s Assistant: Pat Vale-Dougherty Pat.Vale-Dougherty@uoit.ca

education.uoit.ca/

 

Prof. Colleen Willard-Holt, Dean

Faculty of Education

Wilfrid Laurier University

Dean’s Assistant:  Laurie Minor lminor@wlu.ca lminor@wlu.ca

www.wlu.ca/programs/education/graduate/education-bed/

 

Prof. Richard Barwell, Dean

Faculty of Education

University of Ottawa

Dean’s Assistant:  Johanne Doré deduc@uottawa.ca

education.uottawa.ca/en

 

Prof. Rebecca Luce-Kapler, Dean

Faculty of Education

Queen’s University

Dean’s Assistant:  Erin Rennie erin.rennie@queensu.ca

educ.queensu.ca/

 

Prof. Glen Jones, Dean

OISE/U of T Faculty of Education

University of Toronto

Dean’s Assistant:  Denise Makovac-Badali d.makovac@utoronto.ca

www.oise.utoronto.ca/

 

Prof. Cathy Bruce, Dean

School of Education and Professional Learning

Trent University

Dean’s Assistant:  Tammy Wheeler tammywheeler@trentu.ca

www.trentu.ca/education/school-education

 

Prof. Vicki Schwean, Dean

Faculty of Education

Western University

Dean’s Assistant:  Carol Hooper  carol.hooper@uwo.ca

www.edu.uwo.ca/

 

Prof. Ken Montgomery, Dean

Faculty of Education

University of Windsor

Dean’s Assistant:  Maria Argoselo mariaa@uwindsor.ca

 

Prof. Lyndon Martin, Dean

Faculty of Education

York University

Dean’s Assistant:  Maria Thomas MThomas@edu.yorku.ca

www.uwindsor.ca/education/

 

Prof. Phil Teeuwsen

Director of Teacher Education

Education Department

Redeemer University College

Dean’s Assistant:  Catherine Byl cabyl@redeemer.ca

www.redeemer.ca/programs/education/

Western Canada

Prof. Heather Duncan, Dean

Faculty of Education

Brandon University

Dean’s Assistant: Celia Gray grayc@brandonu.ca

www.brandonu.ca/education/

 

Prof. David Mandzuk, Dean

Faculty of Education

University of Manitoba

Dean’s Assistant:  Laura Orsak Laura.Orsak@umanitoba.ca

umanitoba.ca/education/

 

Pr. Stéfan Delaquis, Doyen et directeur de recherche

Faculté d’éducation et des études professionnelles

Université de Saint-Boniface

ustboniface.ca/education

 

Prof. David Williamson, Dean

Kenanow Faculty of Education

University College of the North

www.ucn.ca/sites/academics/facultyeducation/Pages/Kenanow-Faculty-of-Education.aspx

 

Prof. Ken McCluskey, Dean

Faculty of Education

University of Winnipeg

Dean’s Assistant:  Tara Christianson t.christianson@uwinnipeg.ca

www.uwinnipeg.ca/education/

 

Prof. Andrea Sterzuk, Interim Dean

Faculty of Education

University of Regina

Dean’s Assistant:  Kristina Lee Kristina.Lee@uregina.ca

www.uregina.ca/education/

 

Prof. Michelle Prytula, Dean

College of Education

University of Saskatchewan

Dean’s Assistant:  Carol Reader carol.reader@usask.ca

www.usask.ca/education/

 

Pr. Pierre-Yves Mocquais, doyen

Pre. Martine Pellerin

Campus Saint-Jean

University of Alberta

Adjointe de direction: Renée Johnson adjdoyen@ualberta.ca

www.ualberta.ca/en/campus-saint-jean

 

Prof. Jennifer Tupper, Dean

Faculty of Education

The University of Alberta

Dean’s Assistant:  Nike Gardener ngardene@ualberta.ca

www.ualberta.ca/education

 

Prof. Gloria Antifaiff, Dean

School of Education

Red Deer College

rdc.ab.ca/programs/academic-departments/school-education/school-education

 

Prof. Dennis Sumara, Dean

Werklund School of Education

University of Calgary

Dean’s Assistant:  Michelle Downey educ.adminoffice@ucalgary.ca

werklund.ucalgary.ca/

 

Prof. Craig Loewen, Dean

Faculty of Education

University of Lethbridge

Dean’s Assistant: Darcy McKenna darcy.mckenna@uleth.ca

www.uleth.ca/education

 

Prof. June Fiorito, Chair

School of Education

Burman University

www.burmanu.ca/taxonomy/term/13

 

Prof. Lloyd Den Boer, Dean

Faculty of Education

The King’s University

www.kingsu.ca/

 

Prof. Edgar Schmidt, Dean

Faculty of Education

Concordia University of Edmonton

Dean’s Assistant:  Hayley Anderson hayley.anderson@concordia.ab.ca

concordia.ab.ca/education/

 

Prof. Stephen Price, Dean

Faculty of Health, Community and Education

Prof. Jodi Nickel, Chair

Department of Education and Schooling

Mount Royal University

Dean’s Assistant: Adela Krupich akrupich@mtroyal.ca

www.mtroyal.ca/bed/

 

Prof. Tara Hyland-Russell

Interim Dean of Education

St. Mary’s University

Dean’s Assistant: Hanah Pigeau Hanah.Pigeau@stmu.ca

www.stmu.ca/bachelor-of-education-elementary/

 

Prof. Sherry Martens

Associate Dean of Education

Ambrose University

ambrose.edu/program/education-after-degree

British Columbia

Prof. Blye Frank, Dean

Faculty of Education

University of British Columbia

Dean’s Assistant: Michael Murphy m.murphy@ubc.ca

educ.ubc.ca/

 

Prof. Airini, Dean

Faculty of Education and Social Work

Thompson Rivers University

Dean’s Assistant:  Stacey Olson-Steele solsonsteele@tru.ca

www.tru.ca/edsw.html

 

Prof. David Paterson, Dean

Faculty of Education

Vancouver Island University

Dean’s Assistant: Megan Shevchenko megan.shevchenko@viu.ca

www.viu.ca/education/

 

Prof. Andrew Kitchenham, Chair

School of Education

University of Northern British Columbia

Director’s Assistant:  Christine Plumridge Christine.Plumridge@unbc.ca

www.unbc.ca/education

 

Prof. Blye Frank, Dean Pro Tem

Prof. Susan Crichton, Assistant Dean of Education

Faculty of Education

UBC Okanagan

Faculty Administrator: Kristin Schuppener kristin.schuppener@ubc.ca

education.ok.ubc.ca

 

Prof. Kris Magnusson, Dean

Faculty of Education

Simon Fraser University

Dean’s Assistant:  Alana Nordstrand alana_nordstrand@sfu.ca

www.educ.sfu.ca

 

Prof. Allyson Jule, Dean

School of Education

Trinity Western University

Dean’s Assistant: June Smith june.smith@twu.ca

www.twu.ca/academics/school-education

 

Prof. Ralf St. Clair, Dean

Faculty of Education

University of Victoria

Dean’s Assistant:  Maureen Nelms Edasst@uvic.ca

www.uvic.ca/education/

 

Prof. Tracy RyderGlass, Dean

Faculty of Professional Studies

University of the Fraser Valley

Dean’s Assistant: Karen Power Karen.Power@ufv.ca

www.ufv.ca/ps/

Lifetime Members

Any ACDE member or the Executive Director may nominate an ACDE member for a lifetime membership in ACDE. The Executive must approve the nomination.

Lifetime memberships are given to an ACDE member who demonstrates “leadership and outstanding contributions” to ACDE. Normally, those nominated as lifetime members have served multiple terms on the executive, have led the development of an Accord, have facilitated the passing and launch of an Accord, or have achieved some other, significant marker. Lifetime memberships are traditionally presented to outgoing deans at their final ACDE meeting.

Robert J. Tierney (UBC)

Lifetime member since 2009.

 

John R. Wiens (University of Manitoba)

Lifetime member since 2010.

 

Michel D. Laurier (Université de Montréal)

Lifetime member since 2010.

 

Fern Snart (University of Alberta)

Lifetime member since 2015.

 

Ann Sherman (University of New Brunswick)

Lifetime member since 2017.

Past Executive Members

2004-2005

President – Rob Tierney, UBC

President-Elect – Alice Collins, Memorial

Secretary-Treasurer – John Wiens, Manitoba

 

2005-2006

President – Alice Collins, Memorial

President-Elect – Michel Laurier, Montréal

Past President – Rob Tierney, UBC

Secretary-Treasurer – John Wiens, Manitoba

Member-at-Large – Roger Slee, McGill

Member-at-Large – Cecilia Reynolds, Saskatchewan

 

2006-2007

President – Michel Laurier, Montréal

President-Elect – John Wiens, Manitoba

Past President – Alice Collins, Memorial

Secretary-Treasurer – Roger Slee, McGill

Member-at-Large – Jane Gaskell, U of T/OISE

Member-at-Large – Budd Hall, Victoria | Rob Tierney, UBC

 

2007-2008

President – John Lundy, Laurentian

President-Elect – John Wiens, Manitoba

Past President – Michel Laurier, Montréal

Secretary-Treasurer – Roger Slee, McGill | Jamshid Beheshti, McGill

Member-at-Large – Graham Pike, PEI

Member-at-Large – Fern Snart, Alberta

 

2008-2009

President – John Wiens, Manitoba

President-Elect – Fern Snart, Alberta

Past President – John Lundy, Laurentian

Secretary-Treasurer – Rob Tierney, UBC

Member-at-Large – Cathy Beauchamp, Bishop’s

Member-at-Large – Graham Pike, PEI | Jean-François Richard, Moncton

 

2009-2010

President – Fern Snart, Alberta

President-Elect – Jim Sharpe, Mount St. Vincent

Past President – John Wiens, Manitoba

Secretary-Treasurer – Pat Rogers, Windsor

Member-at-Large – Cathy Beauchamp, Bishop’s

Member-at-Large – Jean-François Richard, Moncton

 

2010-2011

President – Jim Sharpe, Mount St. Vincent

President-Elect – Ted Riecken, Victoria

Past President – Fern Snart, Alberta

Secretary-Treasurer – Pat Rogers, Windsor

Member-at-Large – Jean-François Richard, Moncton

Member-at-Large – James McNinch, Regina

 

2011-2012

President – Ted Riecken, Victoria

President-Elect – Alice Pitt, York

Past President – Jim Sharpe, Mount St. Vincent

Secretary-Treasurer – Mark Swanson, Concordia University College

Member-at-Large – James McNinch, Regina

Member-at-Large – Louise Poirier, Montréal

 

2012-2013

President – Alice Pitt, York; Ted Riecken, Victoria

President-Elect – Blye Frank, UBC

Past President – Ted Riecken, Victoria

Secretary-Treasurer – Shaunda Wood, St. Thomas University

Member-at-Large – Colleen Willard-Holt, Wilfrid Laurier

Member-at-Large – Louise Poirier, Montréal

 

2013-2014

President – Blye Frank, UBC

President-Elect – vacant

Past President – Ted Riecken, Victoria

Secretary-Treasurer – Shaunda Wood, St. Thomas / Jim Zimmer, Mount Royal

Member-at-Large – Ann Vibert, Acadia

Member-at-Large – Colleen Willard-Holt, Wilfrid Laurier

 

2014-2015 

President – Blye Frank, UBC

President-Elect – Sal Badali, Mount Saint Vincent

Past President – vacant

Secretary-Treasurer – Jim Zimmer, Mount Royal

Member-at-Large – Ann Vibert, Acadia

Member-at-Large – Steve Elliott, Queen’s

 

2015-2016 

President – Sal Badali, MSVU

President-Elect – Vacant

Past President – Blye Frank, UBC

Secretary-Treasurer – Jim Zimmer, MRU | David Mandzuk, Manitoba

Member-at-Large – Kirk Anderson, Memorial

Member-at-Large – Ann Sherman, UNB

 

2016-2017

President – Sal Badali, Mount Saint Vincent

President-Elect – Kirk Anderson, Memorial

Past President – vacant

Secretary-Treasurer – David Mandzuk, Manitoba

Member-at-Large – Ann Sherman, UNB

Member-at-Large – Kim Franklin, TWU

Member-at-Large (fr) – Marianne Cormier, Moncton

 

2017-2018 

President – Kirk Anderson, Memorial

President-Elect – vacant

Past President – vacant

Secretary-Treasurer – David Mandzuk, Manitoba

Member-at-Large – Airini, TRU

Member-at-Large – Cathy Bruce, Trent

Member-at-Large (fr) – Marianne Cormier, Moncton