CCGSE Mentorship Award

The Canadian Committee of Graduate Students in Education (CCGSE) Mentorship Award is sponsored annually in recognition of exceptional mentorship at the level of graduate instruction. The honour:

  • recognizes the essential role of mentorship in Canadian educational research
  • pays tribute to an individual CSSE faculty member who has provided outstanding support and encouragement for graduate students in education, and
  • involves graduate students in celebrating excellence in faculties of education in Canada

The CCGSE Mentorship Award is presented annually at the General Meeting of CSSE, during the Congress of the Canadian Federation of the Humanities and Social Sciences.


Recognition at the CSSE Annual General Meeting and a one year paid membership to CSSE.


Evidence in recognition of exceptional graduate student mentoring may include, but is not limited to:

  1. Encouraging contributions to the knowledge base of graduate students.
  2. Providing opportunities for graduate students’ professional growth as teachers and researchers.
  3. Modeling active membership in professional societies and encouraging students to do the same.

Submission Requirements

How to nominate a faculty member for the 2019 CCGSE Mentorship Award:

Designate a nomination coordinator: The nomination coordinator is in charge of the nomination process and will compile and send in the nomination package. They can also write one of the letters of support.

To ensure that the process is complete, the nomination coordinator will:

  1. Nomination Cover Letter: Write a cover letter stating the full name, designation, institutional affiliation, department, address, telephone and email Address of both the nominee and the nomination coordinator.
  2. Nomination Letters of Support: Collect three ‘blind’ nomination letters of support from 2 mentees (e.g. graduate students who the nominee has supervised, taught or worked with) and a colleague, describing in detail why the nominee deserves to be recognized for mentoring graduate students. Nomination letters of support must be no more than two pages in length, typed in Arial 10 pt. font and double spaced. A ‘blind’ nomination letter of support means there is NO mention of the nominee’s name or institutional affiliation within the letter. Nominators should be encouraged to refer to nominees as ‘the nominee’. A guide on the criteria for nomination and requirements to be included in the letters of support can be found here.
  3. Submission: Compile the nomination cover letter and three letters of support as a single package in Word Format (.doc) and email to the Mentorship Award Committee – Hasan Kettaneh and Nyasha Nyereyemhuka – and  with the heading – Mentorship Award Nomination.

We encourage applications in both English and French.

Past Recipients

2018 – Dr. Bonny Norton (The University of British Columbia)
2017 – Dr. Allyson Hadwin (University of Victoria)
2016 – Dr. Antoinette Gagné (University of Toronto)
2015 – Dr. Rachel Heydon (Western University)
2014 – Dr. Bruce M. Shore (McGill University)
2013 – Dr. Donna Chovanec (University of Alberta) and Dr. Benjamin Levin (University of Toronto)
2012 – Dr. Michelle McGinn (Brock University)
2011 – Dr. Nancy Heath (McGill University)
2010 – Dr. Jacqueline Specht (University of Western Ontario)
2009 – Dr. Joseph L. Kincheloe (McGill University)
2008 – Dr. Heesoon Bai (Simon Fraser University)
2007 – Dr. Theresa Rogers (University of British Columbia)
2006 – Dr. Rosemary Foster (University of Alberta)
2005 – Dr. John P. Portelli (OISE/ University of Toronto)
2004 – Dr. Michael Manley-Casimir (Brock University)
2003 – Dr. François Larose (Université de Sherbrooke)
2002 – Dr. Phil Nagy (OISE/UT (Retired))
2001 – Dr. Anne McKeough (University of Calgary)
2000 – Dr. Todd Rogers (University of Alberta)
1999 – Dr. Mathew Zachariah, (University of Calgary (Retired))
1998 – Dr. Philip H. Winne, (Simon Fraser University)


15 April 2019


CCGSE Mentorship Award Committee:
Hasan Kettaneh
Nyasha Nyereyemhuka

More information can be found on the CCGSE site.


Continue in | Continuer en