CPES Thesis and Dissertation Award

The Canadian Philosophy of Education Society has instituted an annual CPES Thesis or Dissertation Award in order to recognize an outstanding thesis or dissertation that addresses significant issues in philosophy of education. CPES invites submissions from all philosophical traditions in either English or French. Authors must be members of CPES at the time of submission, and the thesis or dissertation has to be completed at a Canadian university, to be considered for the Award.

Award recipients will receive a certificate from the CPES Thesis and Dissertation Award Committee plus a cash award of one hundred dollars ($100.00). If award recipients have not already presented a paper at CSSE based upon their thesis or dissertation research they will be invited to present their paper during the annual CPES conference.

The CPES Thesis and Dissertation Award Committee will review Master’s (M.Ed. and M.A.) theses and Doctoral (Ed.D. and Ph.D.) dissertations on alternate years (odd numbered for Master’s, even numbered for Doctoral).


Candidates may be nominated by a member of their research supervisory committee, by a member of CPES, or may nominate themselves. The dissertation must have been completed and the degree awarded within the past two years (24 months) prior to the submission deadline. A complete submission package consists of a copy of the dissertation, including abstract, and a nomination letter or email. All documents should be submitted as email attachments in Word or PDF format. (If submission by email is not possible, please contact one of the Co-Chairs of the CPES Thesis and Dissertation Award Committee.)

If you are unsure whether a dissertation is sufficiently linked to philosophy of education to meet the award criteria, please send a copy of the abstract and table of contents to one of the Co-Chairs of the Committee for initial screening.
Dr. Dianne Gereluk, Co-Chair Dr. Darron Kelly, Co-Chair
d.gereluk@ucalgary.ca, p45dik@mun.ca


The next submission deadline is 1 December 2018 and is for Dissertation theses only. The Committee’s decision will be announced publicly at the next annual meeting of CPES, at University of British Columbia in June 2019.


Dr. Darron Kelly, Co-Chair
CPES Thesis and Dissertation Award Committee


Continue in | Continuer en